stella d’oro

24 May

I acquired this plant in with a bunch of other day lilies given to me by a friend. I’m not sure why I’ve never particularly cared for this variety. Maybe it’s because the flowers never look like they’re open all the way; maybe it’s because they always remind me of shopping malls and industrial parks–they’re a favorite of commercial landscapers. Still, they are good signs of the season. When the Stella d’oro blooms, the rest of the day lilies are not more than a week or two away.

Leave a Reply

