trumpet flower vine

24 May

Trumpet flowers are beginning to cover the pergola. They are colorful and very attractive to hummingbirds. Still, I do not recommend planting them as they are very aggressive. They continually drop flowers and seeds and, if you have one vine, you will soon have many of them all over the garden. When you see a trumpet vine emerge, you can’t just pull it up. By the time the leaves emerge there might already be a 12″ tap root that has to be dug out. You also need to be very careful where you plant them. I’ve seen people put them on trellises near a house, only to have the vines grow up and under the roof shingles, lifting them off. So this is a case of don’t do as I did, do as I say. Don’t plant this vine unless you have a separate trellis and are willing to do a lot of digging.

2 Responses to “trumpet flower vine”

  1. SanDee September 2, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    I planted 4 plants over 2 years ago and all I have for my trouble is 1 or 2 flowers on 2 of them. I don’t know what I am doing wrong…it’s so frutrating.

    • Donna's Garden September 4, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

      Having spent many hours digging up volunteers and clipping back vines that have gotten out of control, I tend to advise people to avoid this vine completely. If the vines aren’t very large you might consider getting rid of them in favor of something not so invasive. Unless they’re not getting enough sun, I can’t imagine why they’re not blooming.

Leave a Reply

