garden phlox

28 Jun

I think of this as ‘summer phlox’ to differentiate it from moss phlox, which is a creeping plant that blooms very early in the spring. I think I acquired this when I was helping to clean out flower beds around an old log cabin in a local park. Phlox had sent out volunteers all over the paths and lawns, and those were being pulled out and tossed, so I brought a couple of the discards home with me. I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea to put it in this bed bordering the front walkway.  There are no other similar plants there. I probably just stashed it here “temporarily” to keep it alive.  Every year I think I’m going to transplant it to a more logical spot but that gets lost in all the other jobs there are in early spring and by the time it blooms it’s too late. (The forecast calls for 109 degrees today–not ideal for transplanting.) Phlox are notorious for dispersing seeds everywhere, but I haven’t had that problem–probably because I dead head the flowers as they fade, before they have a chance to reseed everywhere. This is a great, old-fashioned perennial and I really should move it to one of the perennial beds.  Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

