mandevilla

5 Jul

A warm climate vine, this mandevilla happily lives in the sunroom over the winter. Last winter, it got so long that it was trailing across the ceiling and trying to attach itself to the rafters. The flowers form on new growth toward the end of each stem, so I cut them back to about 12″ to get the blossoms down closer to eye level where I can see them up close. I’ve heard them called Chilean jasmine because their fragrance is similar, although they’re not related to jasmine. Mine doesn’t have a fragrance–I guess that’s what you get when you pick up cheap plants at end-of-season sales.

2 Responses to “mandevilla”

  1. John Hric June 8, 2013 at 12:09 am #

    Donna, Wow, it looks like you have quite a beautiful garden. Passion flowers and Madevilla and all the rest. It must be very enjoyable !

    • Donna's Garden June 8, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      Yes, it’s a great garden — at least I think so. The back garden is only about 75′ X 70′ but it’s packed. I’ve been trying to simplify the layout to reduce the maintenance but can’t bring myself to get rid of anything. I did manage to avoid all the local garden club plant sales and keep my visits to the garden center to a minimum, so maybe I’ll finally get a handle on this thing.

Leave a Reply

