what is it?

2 Jun

penstemon13 002Like most home gardeners, I swap cuttings and divisions with other gardeners and sometimes a few roots of a neighboring plant will be dug up along with the plant you intended to divide.  I suspect that’s how this got here.  The base is a round cluster of leaves and the spikes are about 2′ tall.  The flowers seem to be opening from the base up — more or less.  My best guess would be penstemon, but I’d like to be sure so I know where it should be transplanted.  If anyone knows what this is I’d appreciate a comment.  Maybe a closeup would help:

penstemon13 001

 

2 Responses to “what is it?”

  1. John Hric June 8, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    Donna, That might be something else, Penstemon are supposed to have opposite leaves, and the picture shows alternating leaves. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penstemon
    Also it looks like the stem might be somewhat squared. I hope you find out what it is !

    • Donna's Garden June 8, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

      On a tour of gardens in a neighboring town this morning I spotted what looked like my flower but with much larger flowers and more of a spreading habit. The owner said it was campanula, which includes everything from balloon flowers to harebells and much more. The leaves are opposite and, although most books I have list only white and purple as possible colors, Wikipedia says there also are pink varieties. I hope it is campanula because they are said to attract butterflies for laying larva. I have lots of plants that attract mature butterflies but was lacking those that attract the larva stage.

Leave a Reply

