joe pye weed

22 Sep

joepyeweed 004Joe Pye Weed is just about the last of the flowers to come into bloom in the garden.  By the time the flowers open the leaves have lost nearly all of their purple color from earlier in the year — the purple color is seen only in this variety which is called Chocolate Joe Pye Weed.  joepyeweed 003Leaf color is the primary reason I grow this flower; the blossoms themselves are unspectacular.

It might be appropriate that I end this blog on the last flowers of the season.  I’ve recently bought an old (c.1858) house in Maeystown, IL and will be spending the winter refurbishing that.  I’ve already begun dividing some of the plants from this garden as I’ll be starting from a blank slate at the new place.   Maybe I’ll begin blogging again when I have something to show there.  In the meantime, thanks for visiting my garden and best of luck with yours.

2 Responses to “joe pye weed”

  1. Early retired and happy person September 23, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Donna, I’ve loved your blog and look forward to news from your new garden. Good luck and best wishes.

    • Donna's Garden September 24, 2013 at 1:07 am #

      Thanks! Starting a new garden from scratch gives me a chance to put into practice all the things I’ve learned from trial and error over the last decade.

Leave a Reply

